Page 1 of 1

In Vista, Office converter is not importing *.doc file

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:19 pm
by laxmikantj
Hi,

In MS Vista Operating System, Office converter is not allow to import *.doc file.
While importing, it is not showing any filter option for selecting *.doc file which is created using MSWord.

Even I have tried with demo application for Office converter (Delphi 6).

Thanks,

Regards,
Laxmikant

Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:23 pm
by Sergey Tkachenko
Yes, this is a known problem with Office 2007.
Sorry, I do not know why it happens. This converter just refuses to work.

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:17 pm
by Pieter E.
I'm using Vista Business SP1, C++ Builder 2007, MS Office 2007 SP1, TRichViewEdit v1.9.46 and TRVOfficeConverter without any problems.

The following source works:

Code: Select all

OpenDialog1->Filter = "RTF files|*.rtf|" + rvc->GetImportFilter();
if(OpenDialog1->Execute())
  {
    rve->Clear();
    rve->Format();
    rve->Update();
    rve->Clear();
    if(OpenDialog1->FilterIndex == 1)
      {
        rve->LoadRTF(OpenDialog1->FileName);
      }
    else  
      {
        rvc->ImportRV(OpenDialog1->FileName, rve, OpenDialog1->FilterIndex - 2);
      }
  rve->Format();
  rve->Modified = true;
  rve->SetFocus();
}
My application shows a list of RTF, DOCM, WPS, DOCX and DOC files. Importing these files work perfectly.

Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:02 pm
by Sergey Tkachenko
Sorry, I was wrong. The problem is with Word2007's DOC export converters, not with import converters. They should work fine.
Probably you just use wrong converter for this type of files.
There are two DOC files of different formats:
- Word 6/95 doc files;
- Word 97 and newer doc files.
The proper converter must be used for them.
And there is the 3d type of DOC files possible: RTF file with *.doc extension. Such files are saved by the "Word 6.0/95" export converter.

Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:16 pm
by Marsianin
Yeah, I made a topic with this problem long time ago (export problem).
As I can see there is no solution yet?

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:48 pm
by Sergey Tkachenko
No, the new DOC export converters just report error when functions from them are called. They either require some special (the most probably undocumented) settings, or they check if they are called from Word or not.
But again, this problem occurs only for export converters for *.doc files.