Table layout

General TRichView support forum. Please post your questions here
Post Reply
Betanin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:21 pm

Table layout

Post by Betanin »

Hi,

I'm trying the TRichView to use in my company's applications, and i'm very satisfacted with it, but i've one problem that i couldn't solve, the tables that i import from a RTF document are non align, ther are any way to fix them?

Thanks
Betanin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:21 pm

Post by Betanin »

Hi again,

I forgot some details...

I'm using the version 12 of TRichView component and the TReportHelper to resize and paint the pages.
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

Which exactly problems you have with tables?
Can you send me a sample RTF file to show the problem to richview at gmaildotcom?
Betanin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:21 pm

Post by Betanin »

Thanks Sergey, i've been sent the files to svt at trichviewdotcom
Betanin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:21 pm

Post by Betanin »

Hi Sergey, i was studying the code of the tables in html and i observed that there are lots of blank cells in the document. When i drag these cells the table is corrected. So i thought in destroy these cells before to print my document, but now i have another problem, when i send the document to printer i receive an error message of an index out of range. How can i solve this?

Thanks

This is my code to destroy the blank cells

Code: Select all

      for r := 0 to table.Rows.Count-1 do
        for c := 0 to table.Rows[r].Count-1 do
        begin
          if(c = 0)then j := 0;
          if table.Cells[r,j]<>nil then
          begin
            vHasContent := False;
            for i := 0 to table.Cells[r,j].ItemCount - 1 do
            begin
              if(Trim(table.Cells[r,j].GetItemText(i)) <> '')then
              begin
                vHasContent := True;
              end;
            end;
            if(not vHasContent)then
            begin
              table.Rows[r].Delete(j);
              j := j - 1;
            end;
          end;
          j := j + 1;
      end;
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

First, about the original problem.
These tables were created quite inaccurate.
Take a closer look after loading in MS Word:
Image
You can see that some vertical borders are slightly shifted in different rows. This shift leads to addition of extra cell (column) in this place.
TRichView did not assign width of these extra cells, because I believed that a table can be correctly resized using sizes of other cells (cells with content).
But in this case, this assumption was wrong.
So I made a fix (will be uploaded with the next update): width of such cells are defined explicitly.
Now the table looks in TRichViewEdit in this way:
Image
Still not perfect, but as good as possible.
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

I agree that these tables require fixing.
You can do it manually by resizing tables in MS Word until vertical borders becomes identical in all rows.
After loading, you can try to make a procedure for fixing it, but I am afraid it would be too difficult.
You cannot just delete the specified cell, do not call table.Rows[r].Delete(j), it the most likely produces invalid tables. You can only delete the whole column (using table.DeleteCols method).
But, unfortunately, deleting columns is not enough. On the example in the previous post, only the problem in the right rectangle can be fixed by deleting column.
Betanin
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:21 pm

Post by Betanin »

Hi Sergey,

I'm deeply grateful for your answers, i believe that your last fix making the column size explicit will solve the biggest part of the problems to me. I'll ask the buying of your component to my boss. Wich release have the last fix? Thank you again!
Sergey Tkachenko
Site Admin
Posts: 17559
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
Contact:

Post by Sergey Tkachenko »

This change is included in TRichView v12.4.5 (available for registered users).
If you need to test it before ordering, let me know, I'll send you a trial for your version of Delphi.

PS: this fix made your tables look better, but still not very good, so the best way is to fix them manually in MS Word.
Post Reply